Regrets

I knew nothing about hysterectomy before I had it.  Actually, scratch that. I knew I couldn’t have babies and that I wouldn‘t have a period. That was it.

I surprise myself when I think back to how eager I was to have this surgery.  I think after three long years of wonky and painful periods, I just wanted to get rid of them. I saw this as my out.

I don’t think I fully understood what this surgery entailed. It wasn‘t until I came home from the hospital that I started to grasp what was happening. And what was happening was not pleasant.

I can’t sit for longer than 20 minutes. My appetite waxes and wanes. I am deeply depressed. I feel angry and robbed and ugly. My body is rebelling and new health issues are popping up. I just am drowning in all this. And no one understands.

I never thought I would miss my period.  I would kill to have it back now.  Just so that I could call myself a woman.

Look at other options, ladies, before you have a hysterectomy. You don’t want to end up like me.

Leave a Reply

